Sunday, August 7, 2011

A stitch for your thoughts

I've got nothing truly knitting-related to post today and yet I felt compelled to say something.  

All weekend I've felt like I was ready to snap. I've not been sleeping well, which makes me super cranky. I'm in ultra-crunch time for two different deadlines coming up on the same day and I won't be sleeping anytime soon until both samples are finished. I've been knitting so much for the deadlines that my hands are aching. And to top it off, work is still super stressful at this point in the year and I'm still working 70+ hours/week, when generally this is the time I can let my guard down a bit and relax and actually enjoy a weekend. I'm stuck in the tunnel with no light in sight.

So, yeah. I'll admit I was feeling a bit sorry for myself today.

And then I heard the news that the father of a former roommate, good friend, & fellow knitter had passed away this morning after a very short battle with a previously undiagnosed cancer.  And everything snapped into perspective.  Yes, the knitting deadlines and my day job are important to me, but nothing about them is life and death. Needless to say, I'm feeling a little humbled.

So, if you've got a few stitches to spare tonight, knit a few for a fellow knitter who could use some good thoughts as she grieves over the loss of her father. 

As for me, I'm going to be sending some stitches, love, and positive thoughts across the miles to her too.  

And I'll also be daydreaming of the fall when things are less stressful and I can play around with this gorgeous fiber from Blue Moon that came in the mail not long ago.  Those colors are enough to even bring a smile to my cranky face. 

40 comments:

  1. You are an incredible woman and amazing friend. I love you!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I've got to stop looking at the Internet. I just read a post that made me want to try quilting, and now this one makes me want to try spinning! I hope the deadline projects go well, and I'm sending positive thoughts toward your friend and her family.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Allison: You seem to have the energy of a ferret on amphetamines, so I know you'll bounce back. And, if laughter truly is great medicine, you're a walking pharmacy. At least you let your crankiness be known to your readers and friends, and they no doubt understand, because they know and love the REAL Allison. You're a super wonderful lady and much loved by many more folks than you probably realize.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I'm very sorry to hear about your friend's dad. I definitely know what you mean about a death or illness putting things into perspective for you... that's exactly how I feel a lot of times and it makes me feel very lucky to have the life that I have.

    lina
    photoknitdog.com

    ReplyDelete
  5. mais je north face homme pas cher ne sais pas si laisser la porte Tianmen suprême maître de deux décennies, la recherche presque fou. Prince toucher la main pense cet artefact légendaire, the north face Soldes mais une récupération rapide pas cher de la main, l'ordre suprême caché dans les bras du Prince, the north face Soldes Mais tous sont entendues, il suffit de savoir que le jour où la porte The North Face Soldes il ya un jeton, mais ne savent the north face Soldes pas qu'il est de l'ordre suprême, the north face Soldes c'est pas cher gauche, ne peut absolument pas laisser le jour, la porte des personnes qui ont trouvé, il faut pour se venger cher . Ha ha ha ha, la vengeance, north face femme pas cher seul vous. pas cher, puis juste un fini, le the north face Soldes trou a été bloqué par des dizaines de personnes noires.

    ReplyDelete
  6. In the start-up cheap christian louboutin company, if you Christian Louboutin Daffodile have more programs and uggs outlet work plans with a uggs on sale value before it is determined, christian louboutin rather in the group with other team members to talk about, and Cheap LV Handbags do not come clean without thinking, at least to Discount Louis Vuitton retain half of your ugg soldes own ideas. Because in the cheap nike jordan shoes early has been developed in a planned planning, schedules cheap jordans and rates of Bags Louis Vuitton return, you will do this more readily available ugg boots to support others.4, to be proactive, not forced to wait. No matter discount christian louboutin how young you are, how no experience, wholesale jordan shoes you can Cheap Louis Vuitton Handbags be Christian Louboutin Bois Dore an indispensable part of start-up companies. christian louboutin remise 50% Remember, everyone christian louboutin shoes has the potential ability and discount nike jordans intangible contributions. Facts ugg have proved that advance thinking, positive efforts will Discount LV Handbags help you find the opportunity to advance their own business results, even if only a simple ugg australia cleaning or for your colleagues to do a ugg pas cher report.

    ReplyDelete
  7. ddddd1005gucci, http://www.borseguccioutlet.it/
    true religion jeans, http://www.truereligionjeanscanada.com/
    ugg outlet, http://www.uggoutletstore.eu.com/
    oakley sunglasses cheap, http://www.oakleysunglasses-wholesale.us.com/
    celine outlet store, http://www.celineoutletus.com/
    philadelphia eagles, http://www.philadelphiaeaglesjersey.us/
    timberland outlet, http://www.timberlandboots.name/
    longchamp outlet online, http://www.longchampoutlet.name/
    ray ban sunglasses,ray ban sunglasses outlet,ray ban,rayban,ray bans,ray ban outlet,ray-ban,raybans,ray ban wayfarer,ray-ban sunglasses,raybans.com,rayban sunglasses,cheap ray ban
    fitflop sandals, http://www.fitflop.in.net/
    michael kors wallets for women, http://www.michaelkorswallet.net/
    oakland raiders, http://www.oaklandraidersjerseys.us/
    louis vuitton uk, http://www.louisvuittonhandbags.org.uk/
    snapback hats, http://www.cheapsnapbacks.us.com/
    manchester united jersey, http://www.manchesterunitedonline.com/
    miami heat, http://www.miamiheatjerseys.net/
    instyler ionic styler,instyler,instyler ionic styler pro
    nike air max, http://www.airmax2014.net/
    puma sneakers, http://www.pumaoutletonline.com/
    new orleans saints, http://www.neworleanssaintsjerseys.us/

    ReplyDelete
  8. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutletsale.in.net

    ReplyDelete