Wednesday, November 11, 2009

Pretty Little Thing

So, I've been feeling fairly frustrated at knitting lately. I'm suffering from chronic start-a-new-project-every-day-itis and I just can't seem to get into any of them. I'm chalking it up to the fact that I still haven't unwound from the summer season, even though I've been traveling and trying to relax a little.

Consequently, I was on the lookout for a very mindless and easy project that I could complete quickly...a project that could somehow escape the clutches of my knitting A.D.D. I finally settled on Pretty Thing (Rav it) by Yarn Harlot.
I used exactly one skein of Sarah's Yarns Mongolian Cashmere DK 4-ply in Natural White. I've had the yarn for awhile and I wasn't sure what project I'd eventually use it for. I was hoping that I'd find a project that could be worn close to the skin, as this yarn is so soft and buttery. Pretty Thing fit the bill.
I used the Magic Loop method with my Harmony interchangeable circs in size 5 with a 40" cable. Because it seemed like this pattern was written for a munchkin, I cast on an extra repeat of stitches so that there would at least be a fighting chance that I could fit my noggin through the opening. And I added an extra repeat of the middle lace pattern to increase the length a bit.

Overall, I'm pretty pleased with it. Heck, I'm just tickled pink that I actually finished a project.
Oh, and it appears that my Maplewing Shawl will have to wait a bit to get finished. While using my size 5 tips on Pretty Thing, I carelessly set my knitting on the floor at the foot of my knitting chair while I took a break. Upon return, I didn't see that the needle was sticking out and I stepped on it, breaking it in half with a heart-sinking snap.
Of course, these are the same size needles I'm using on Maplewing...and my only pair in size 5. (Maplewing was resting on its long cable, needle-less while I had an affair with the cowl.)

So, it looks like I'll have to make a quick order to KnitPicks before Maplewing becomes destined to live in the UFO pile indefinitely. And since I'm already ordering some needle tips, I might as well throw in some Swish Bulky in Squirrel Heather, because I've been itching to start this DROPS jacket for a long time now...and if I'm already getting that yarn, then I might as well try out some Imagination Hand-Painted Sock Yarn...and then...oh no, this could get ugly...

15 comments:

  1. That cowl is stunning! yay for Finished objects :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. Your Pretty Thing is so nice! Have fun deciding what to order from Knit Picks.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Your cowl is beautiful - love it in the cream, as the pattern stands out so well! Bad luck with the needle...

    ReplyDelete
  4. Your Pretty Thing is such a pretty thing! Nice work.

    ReplyDelete
  5. In the start-up cheap christian louboutin company, if you Christian Louboutin Daffodile have more programs and uggs outlet work plans with a uggs on sale value before it is determined, christian louboutin rather in the group with other team members to talk about, and Cheap LV Handbags do not come clean without thinking, at least to Discount Louis Vuitton retain half of your ugg soldes own ideas. Because in the cheap nike jordan shoes early has been developed in a planned planning, schedules cheap jordans and rates of Bags Louis Vuitton return, you will do this more readily available ugg boots to support others.4, to be proactive, not forced to wait. No matter discount christian louboutin how young you are, how no experience, wholesale jordan shoes you can Cheap Louis Vuitton Handbags be Christian Louboutin Bois Dore an indispensable part of start-up companies. christian louboutin remise 50% Remember, everyone christian louboutin shoes has the potential ability and discount nike jordans intangible contributions. Facts ugg have proved that advance thinking, positive efforts will Discount LV Handbags help you find the opportunity to advance their own business results, even if only a simple ugg australia cleaning or for your colleagues to do a ugg pas cher report.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutletsale.in.net

    ReplyDelete